Solar Movies
Hydrogen alpha solar animations

A Spot Dancer in AR1410 and 1413

This movie show AR 1410 and 1413 captured at 1 minute intervals on 5 feb 2012 from 1811 to 1940 UT. I used the Tak 102 with the double stacked Lunt 75mm Hydrogen alpha filters. Good seeing conditions prevailed, and the active regions exhibited some fine action with dark fibrils dancing above hot plage. The motion of prominences can be seen on the limb, and I kept the exposure on the bright side to capture the prominence action. 600 frames were captured every minute, and processed using avistack batch processing. The capture software was Lucam Recorder, which has a cross hair feature, and a great timer for capturing time-lapse avi files. I use a laptop cooler during capture and processing to keep the computer nice and cool. this seems to keep the capture frame rates in the high 50s, and allows for faster avistack processing. I cooked some pork chops and watched the big game on TV as my laptop toiled away on the long list of avi files.  I then used Corel Paint Shop to adjust the brightness during post processing. It has a great batch process feature that allows me to adjust 1 image to suit my tastes, save the changes, and then automatically apply the adjustments to the other images used for the movie. Before brightness adjustment and cropping, I ran the frames through registsax several times to get good registration.My imaging day started early, as I was up before dawn to align the mount and avoid field rotation (my cat Spoofy helps me get up early).  Note the rotation of the surface. Just click on the image to launch the giff

No Responses to “A Spot Dancer in AR1410 and 1413”

Leave a comment